Learning How Second Life Works

I checked out Lionheart Orientation Island, and found it very helpful.  Walking through the orientation screens helped me understand how to do different things in Second Life (http://secondlife.com).  It was also interesting to figure out how Second Life makes money.  A program this expansive costs a lot of money to keep running, regardless if users are involved.  I realize you can upgrade to the premium version and have different features, but also the function to purchase money to use to add items to your character and virtual life.  This guy has a hard time spending money on virtual stuff, but I guess I need to remember that I pay for other forms of entertainment.  I do see Second Life having the potential to be addictive, and could cost people money.  Really that is the case with pretty much everything.

Another thing I noticed was that some of the orientation actions were not in the places they indicated.  I believe either the orientation was not up-to-date or I need to change some configuration settings.  Regardless, I was able to find the appropriate menus, and complete the actions.

All in all, I had a lot of fun navigating through Second Life.  I can see how something like this can be very engaging for students.

2 thoughts on “Learning How Second Life Works

  1. Yes, it can be engaging for students and after a glance at your tweets below I see that’s a main focus for your blog. Second Life can also be engaging for writers, artists, musicians, engineers, veterans with ptsd, people who are home bound and many others.

    There’s a steep learning curve and if students want to use their time wisely it helps to be able to discern what’s a distraction, what’s a useful moving forward and how to gracefully walk away quickly.

    It requires self-motivation skills and doesn’t require money to be spent. Many residents embrace the hobo lifestyle. Like with many things, it’s mostly about what one makes of it. Cheers.

  2. You make some good observations about how living in Second Life is different than the Real World. You make an interesting comment about spending real world money for virtual things. I especially like how you connect it with spending money on entertainment which is virtual. I never thought of that.
    Z

Leave a Reply

